Apprenticeship Patterns

Wow, wow, wow. Apprenticeship Patterns what is a book? Software Craftmanship? to be an Apprentice? to Be a Journeyman? to Be a Master?  Apprenticeship? an Apprenticeship Pattern? Where do Patterns Come From? all in this chapter create a simple mechanism for the development and basic understanding about how to be a good craftmanship and eventually become a good programmer.

Dave’s story resonated with my past. I have struggled in the past a lot when I first tried to learn to program. I am quoting Dave here in this paragraph when he said this as I am paraphrasing his word “Perl was my first programming language, but only after two failed attempts at learning how to program. After seeing the movie Tron and being inspired by the idea of an entire world existing inside my computer, I attempted to teach myself BASIC on my Apple IIe when I was 12 years old. I acquired an Apple-published BASIC manual, but I couldn’t figure out how to use it in a fascinating way. I soon gave up when I realized I wouldn’t be able to make anything other than text-based games.”

what I found the most interesting in this reading is the way they have separated all the concepts about craftsmanship. Everything seems to build around it. After reading through the rest of the chapters, I found there is a lot of great information that is available and relevant today. In Chapter2 through 6 there are talking about it.

Emptying the Cup Your First Language, Confront Your IgnoranceThe Deep End, Retreat into Competence, Wrapping Up, Walking the Long Road, Accurate Self-Assessment, Perpetual Learning, Construct Your Curriculum.

Walking the Long RoadThe Long Road, Craft over Art, Sustainable Motivations, Nurture Your Passion, Draw Your Own Map, Use Your Title, stay in the Trenches, A Different Road, Wrapping Up.

Accurate Self-Assessment, Be the Worst, Find Mentors, Kindred Spirits, Rubbing Elbows, Sweep the Floor, Wrapping Up

Perpetual LearningExpand Your Bandwidth, Practice, Practice, Practice, Breakable Toys, Use the Source, Reflect as You Work, Record What You Learn, Share What You Learn, Create Feedback Loops, Learn How You Fail, Wrapping Up

Construct Your CurriculumReading List

Read Constantly, Study the Classics, Dig Deeper, Familiar Tools, Wrapping Up

After reading through this book, I wonder how we should approach the idea of craftsmanship and the basic principles that need to be allowed.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started